Cherry-Todd Electric Cooperative annual meeting this Saturday

By Kevin Thranow

Cherry-Todd Electric Cooperative will hold their annual meeting for members on Saturday, September 22, at the White River Community Events Center. Registration begins at 9:00 a.m. (Central Time) with the meeting scheduled to begin at 10:00 a.m.

In addition to regular business reports and procedural activities, the meeting will feature election of two directors representing Mellette County. Candidates for these seats are Whitney Meek of Wood, South Dakota, and Robert Becker, Dan Valburg, and Phyllis Ann White Sheild, all of White River.

A proposed bylaw amendment intended to align elections of county directors with the rotation of meeting locations is also on the agenda. If adopted, election of future board members will occur at the county meeting that coincides with their zone. Voting for Mellette County directors will be held on the year that the co-op meeting location is in White River; for Todd County directors at the Mission meeting; and for Cherry County directors at the Valentine meeting.

The Oyate For Fairness and Equal Representation (OFFER) has challenged the logic of the proposed bylaw amendment and suggested that the board representation should more accurately reflect the number or percentage of CTEC members in each of the counties it serves.

OFFER held a candidate forum at the Rosebud Sioux Tribe administration building last Friday at which nominees for the current open positions were given the opportunity to express their views. The group will also be hosting a Tribal Empowerment Gathering and Feed at 6:00 p.m. on Friday, September 21, at the SGU Multi-Purpose Building, as well as breakfast at 8:00 a.m. on the morning of the co-op meeting at the Swift Bear Community Building in White River. Both events are intended to better inform tribal co-op members of the issues that will be covered at the general meeting and to encourage members to attend the meeting and vote.

Cherry-Todd Electric Cooperative members who plan to attend the annual meeting should remember to bring the registration card that they received recently by mail. Everyone who registers will be eligible for the prize drawing.

PO Box 229, Mission, SD 57555 • 605-856-4469 • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.